Answers to All your Mah Jongg Questions

Answers to All your Mah Jongg Questions

play

Q) If you call a tile, expose it with 2 like tiles and a joker, then realize you only need 3, is it allowed to put the joker back in your hand if you have not yet discarded?

A) Yes… if you make a mistake and expose a Kong instead of a Pung, you can correct your error and change your exposure as... read more

Q) If it is your turn and you reach for and touch the tile … and then say, ‘wait a minute’ because you are still thinking you might want to claim the last tile discarded …. can you pick up the discarded tile, or must you pick the tile you touched? (You did not look at the tile you touched.)

A) The rule is if you move it then it is yours and you can’t call the previously discarded tile. 

Q) Is the bettor allowed to speak up if she realizes that the person who declared Mahjongg is actually dead?

A) The bettor shouldn’t make any corrections until Mah Jongg is declared, verified and the players are all paid.

Q) When you expose tiles and place them on your rack, is there any reason to turn the tiles facing out to the other players rather than facing the player who made the exposure?

A) You can face the tiles either way. It is totally up to you. There is no rule.

Q) Are there any rules requiring the ‘players’ to play for money?

A) There is no rule requiring that you play for money. It is a decision that is up to your group.  Some groups do and... read more

Q) If someone has a dead fully exposed hand, can the rest of the players take jokers from the dead exposed hand or no?

A) Yes, Only if the exposures were before being called dead.
Categories

Sign up for our FREE E-Newsletter for lots of tips, questions and answers on the rules and customs of Mah Jongg.


Tags

Powered by Cindur   |   Copyright © 2017-2020, All Rights Reserved, Cindur, Inc.