Answers to All your Mah Jongg Questions

Answers to All your Mah Jongg Questions


Q) If someone draws a tile from the wall, exchanges it for a joker tile from another player’s rack, and declares Mah Jongg… are they paid double like drawing your own Mah Jongg tile?

A) If you exchange the tile for a joker and make Mah Jongg then YES you have picked it yourself and YES you get paid... read more

Q) If a player discovers during the game that he/she has only 11 or 12 tiles, can he/she take one or two from the remaining wall tiles or is her hand “dead”?

A) If you are short tiles at any time during the game, you are dead. You should NEVER call yourself dead. Keep on playing until... read more

Q) If it is your turn and you reach for and touch the tile … and then say, ‘wait a minute’ because you are still thinking you might want to claim the last tile discarded …. can you pick up the discarded tile, or must you pick the tile you touched? (You did not look at the tile you touched.)

A) The rule is if you move it then it is yours and you can’t call the previously discarded tile. 

Q) Is the bettor allowed to speak up if she realizes that the person who declared Mahjongg is actually dead?

A) The bettor shouldn’t make any corrections until Mah Jongg is declared, verified and the players are all paid.

Q) What happens if a player miscalls a tile during the game?

A) Someone at the table usually corrects the miscalled tile and the game goes on unless it is called for Mah Jongg then the game... read more

Q) When you pick your tile, is there any reason to ‘click’ (or tap) the tile on your rack before racking it?

A) Clicking or tapping your tile on your rack is not racking your tile. It can be annoying to some. The only way to rack... read more

Sign up for our FREE E-Newsletter for lots of tips, questions and answers on the rules and customs of Mah Jongg.


Powered by Cindur   |   Copyright © 2017-2024, All Rights Reserved, Cindur, Inc.